Not the News You Are Looking For

The two week wait has come and gone and sadly the pregnancy test was negative. It was harder on me than I thought it would have been and I spent a good deal of the day moping and periodically crying. Church was hard because we weren’t telling anyone it was negative yet and so I wasn’t able to get any support. A good friend of mine came over and we talked and she got me into a positive mood and ready mentally for the next cycle. We have now had some time to get used to the negative test, and wanted to let people know before Christmas to avoid being a downer at the family gathering. The odds weren’t great for the first cycle as it was with only two mature follicles. It is not uncommon for the first cycle to fail as the doctors are still trying to figure out what combination of medications will work best for you.

As I did not respond well to the Clomid and needed the injectables at the end, we and Dr. Amols decided that a more aggressive approach would probably help. Therefore I am on a stronger pill called Femara, and we also started the injectables at the beginning this time instead of waiting for the end to see if the pills are doing enough. The next ultrasound is tomorrow to see where we are at with the follicles in their growth and to try to get an estimate as to when we can do the next IUI. I’m sure the new meds are working better than the Clomid did because I have been more emotional from the start and, unfortunately, a little more snippy with Matthew than I should be. He is so wonderful and understanding and doesn’t get upset with me when I do snap at him. The Femara does have a higher chance of multiples than the Clomid does, but with my poor response to Clomid Matthew and I felt the risk was well worth it.

We want to thank everyone for their prayers and well wishes and want to wish everyone a wonderful Christmas 🙂

Leave a Reply

