Day 6 Post Retrieval

We are now at day 6 post retrieval. All of the embryos that are going to reach the blastocyst stage have and have been frozen. We have 4 little snowflake babies sitting and waiting to4-snowflake-babies be transferred! This initially seemed like kind of a low number to me considering we had 38 eggs and 22 embryos to start out with. However because of the fertilization issues we had it’s possible that there was an issue with either my eggs or Matthew’s sperm which caused the embryos to not survive. We are now waiting for my cycle to start again as having a fresh uterine lining is very important for the embryos to implant properly and for me to have a healthy pregnancy. As it has been about 3 months since my last period I know that the next one is going to be a doozy, but that is when it does finally show up. As far as how I am recovering from the retrieval itself I’m still in some pain and any jarring causes more pain. This would indicate, to me at least, that I do have a mild case of Ovarian Hyper-Stimulation Syndrome. I was kind of expecting this because we had to have me on a higher than normal dosage because during the IUIs I didn’t always respond well to the meds and Dr. Amols wanted to make sure that we had a lot of eggs to work with. The problem with that many eggs is ovaries are only about the size of a kiwi fruit, and 38 follicles between the size of 16mm-20mm are not going to easily fit in that kind of space.

Everything else is going well and we are simply once again in the waiting stage, which almost seems to be a constant part of fertility treatments. We do appreciate everyone’s support and prayers through all of this and hope to be able to announce some good news in the New Year 🙂

Leave a Reply

